Arkansas State University Faculty Senate August 26, 2016 Minutes

Present:

Senators/Association Officers: Mike McDaniel, Greg Phillips, Joanna Grymes, Phillip Tew, Richard Segall, David Holman, Loretta McGregor, Amy Pearce, Shivan Haran, Kyle Chandler, Claire Abernathy, Mary Donaghy, Richard Burns, Aiqun Hu, April Sheppard, Pradeep Mishra, Brinda McKinney, Annette Bednar, Jody Long, Debbie Shelton, Larry Morton, Amber Wooten, Bob Bennett,

Proxies: Steve Bounds for G. Neal; Bill Rowe for J. Ford; Greg Phillips for H. Hacker; Brent Ross Carroll for B. Johnson; Nikesha Nesbitt

Visitors: Sandra Combs, Mary Jackson Pitts, Mary Jane Bradley, Wayne Wilkinson, Jessica Curtis

Call to Order

Chair Mike McDaniel called the meeting to order at approximately 3:00 pm.

Grymes reminded Senators, Proxies and Guests to please sign the attendance roster so their presence could be read into the record.

Chair's Address to the Senate

McDaniel addressed the Senate with his initial remarks, identifying he had two missions:

- 1. To make faculty a priority at A-State
- 2. To make transparency and shared governance a part of the culture of the campus.

He believes that failure to embrace either of these two missions ought to disqualify an individual for a leadership post and would lead to a lack of confidence in a campus leader. At this point we are a long way from shared governance being a part of the campus culture. We all, faculty, students, staff and administration, must be attuned to shared governance issues. The Shared Governance Oversite Committee (SGOC) is the only entity that should determine if an issue is a shared governance issue.

There are opportunities and challenges ahead of us. The history of the institution is not nearly as important as the future of the institution. We have before us the opportunity to make positive and lasting change. The faculty is a diverse faculty; there is strength in that diversity. It does make it difficult to speak as one faculty.

Some issues that have already come to him through the faculty that the Senate will explore include: media address, faculty load, Proctor U, summer pay and the 2015-16 college reorganization. The Steering Committee (Faculty Senate Executive Committee) will set the agenda.

McDaniel also reported on the status of the Faculty Handbook. He has worked to reorganize and make it more user friendly and has worked with Lori Wynn in the Systems office identifying content that is faculty-specific and that which is related to System-wide employee policies/procedures. Hopefully to final edits will move forward early this semester.

McDaniel noted that as work has moved forward on the A-State Faculty Handbook, opportunities to address shared governance within the Systems office should be considered.

Faculty Senate Elections

A call for nominations for Recording Secretary of the Senate drew forth a nomination for Amber Wooten. A motion called to close nominations and elect Wooten by proclamation (Grymes?, moved; ??, seconded?). Motion passed.

A call for nominations for Vice Chair of the Senate brought forth nominations for Shivan Haran, Loretta McGregor, and Bruce Johnson. A motion to close nominations was made and seconded (Phillips/Abernathy?). Motion passed.

As one nominee was not available, the existing Steering Committee determined to move ahead with a paper ballot. Loretta McGregor was elected Vice Chair.

<u>Approval of the Minutes</u>

A motion was made (McGregor) and seconded (?) to approve the minutes of April 29, 2016. No corrections or amendments were presented. The motion passed and the minutes stand approved.

Old Business

No old business was brought forward for discussion or action.

New Business

Greg Phillips read a letter written to Dr. Welch into the record. The letter will be sent out with the Senate minutes. Individual faculty are welcome to sign the letter.

Phillips moved the letter be added to Old Business for the next Senate meeting, McGregor seconded, and the motion passed.

<u>Announcements</u>

Richard Burns reminded Senators about membership in the AAUP.

Adjournment

McGregor moved to adjourn the meeting; ? seconded. Motion approved.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 3:35 pm.

Next meeting: 3 pm, Friday, September 16, 2016.